top of page

Makeup Revolution SophX Palette

The SophX palette is a collaboration with Makeup Revolution and popular British Youtuber Sophdoesnails. This is one of the first palettes that I have ever purchased and the colours in it are very versatile. At the price of 12 pounds it is a steal. Usually for that price you would not expect pigmentation, a good variety of colours an so on, however that is not the case over here. All colours have amazing pigmentation, seriously there is no flaw with any of the shades. Most of the shades are great for everyday use however there are the some odd colours with which you can create fun looks such Mixed Berries which is a gorgeous purple - pink shimmer shade or Pine which is a Green mixed with gold flecks which gives a very Christmasy vibes (hence the name).

Starting with the packaging which is all designed by Soph herself, it is a mixture of rose gold, pink and gold marble as well as gold flakes embossed into the box. Opening the box you can find the palette which is a creamy gold colour (similair to that of the Iphone 8) with gold writing on it. Opening the palette you'll find a little plastic sheet with the names of all the shades which I am always misplacing but which is good to keep as it would be handy when using in tutorials or even explaining to people how you created the look.

The palette has 24 shades, a mix of mattes and shimmers.

Penguin is the first shade, it is a white matte shade, it is great for creating an inner highlight, under to eyes to brighten or in some cases that I have used it, go over a super pigmented shade to lighten it.

Pancakes is a great transition shade, it is a matte shade, it is a pale white shade similair to that of the outside casing of the palette.

Fairylights is the first shimmer shade of the palette, it is a prefect inner corner highl

ight. I personally use this usually to create an ombre effect from the inner part of my lid to slightly more to the centre. While shimmers are typically frowned upon in everyday use (especially my line of work) I always enjoy adding a little pop! to my look.

Pink Champagne is another shimmer shade, similair to Fairy Lights however it is obviously more pinky toned.

Iced Coffee which is a neutral matte light warm neutral shade

Cuppa Tea which a warm light brown matte shade.

Going on to the second row we start with two different shades of gold:

Grow Old which is a warm shimmer, yellowy, bronzy gold and;

Sparks Fly which is also a shimmer gold however it is less warm toned and less bronzy.

Smokey Bronze a shimmery dark bronze which compliments beautifully the brown toned shades in the palette.

Mixed Berries which is a glittery shimmery magenta purple.

Tiramisu is a neutral matte medium brown shade and one of my favourite shades, it somehow finds it's way into every look.

Peaches which is a light matte peach shade and one of the shades I have dipped into most. For those who have used the Too Faced Just Peachy Mattes palette this shade is kind of an in between shade between Peach Tea and Peach Cobbler.

In the third row we start with Cloudberry which is a light matte orange shade however despite it being matte by other makeup artists and Soph herself (maybe it could be just me) there seem to be very light micro glitters.

Pumpkin which is a matte red orange shade.

Pine Tree which is a shimmery, moss green shade with slight flecks of gold.

Petrol which is metallic slightly iridescent shimmer shade going between blue, violet and brown.

Pug is a neutral matte grey brown shade, also one of the fewer cool toned colours in this palette.

Danger, a matte brick red shade which is another favourite of mine.

And in the final row we can find:

Strawberry Sweets which is a matte strawberry pink shade.

Festive Flame which is a shimmery, slightly pinky toned red shade and I love to blend this in with Danger to create a deep red shimmery look on my eyes.

Copper Coin a shimmery orangey copper colour.

Mugcake a dark neutral matte brown.

Rosewood which is a dark grey, pink toned brown shade.

Nightmare, the last shade in the palette which is a matte black shade.

Personally I am a person who enjoys using mostly warm toned shades so I tend to favour shades like Danger, Peaches, Festive Flame, Grow Old and Mugcake (which are my top 5 shades). Saying that I have managed to dip into every single shade in this palette, I have tried doing a variety of looks. My least used shades are Petrol and Nightmare as for me they are too dark and I love a very neutral everyday look.

The shimmer shades are all gorgeous and for an even more dramatic look I would suggest dampening the brush with some setting spray or water to give that metallic foiled eyeshadow look.

Some of the brown shades, as suggested by the creator herself can be used as brow shadows, I personally have not been able to try this out as my brows are pretty full however after having an overplucking incident I did use a mixture of Rosewood and Mugcake to fill in the sparse area and it worked quite well.

I find that the shade range is amazing and it can suit a large number of people, fair and dark skinned as well as any eyeshadow mood you are in. It is a perfect palette to take travelling with you are it has a huge mirror with the lid of the palette and it is perfect for day and night looks. After buying this for myself I bought another one for my friend as it is inexpensive but it is excellent quality. I have been asked if there is fallout and very rarely have I had any, even when I reopen the palette I have never seen random eyeshadow dust between the pans or coating the mirror. For the price point it is great for people who are just starting makeup or just want to experiment with eye makeup and seeing what you like and don't before spending your money on higher end palettes.

Is it good? Yes

Is it worth the money? Definitely

Would you repurchase? Of course, despite not having hit pan yet on any of the shades, I have been using it almost everyday ever since I purchased it and it has become a staple in my everyday makeup routine.

Would you recommend? For Sure! (At that price why not?)

From where can I purchase this? If you are in the UK you can this at SuperDrug if not you may find this on the Tam Beauty Website (which hosts other brands such as Freedom Makeup, Makeup Revolution and some others). If you are in the US I believe you can find this at Ulta.

If you would like some ideas on looks you can create with this palette I would suggest visiting the creators YouTube page, Sophdoesnails for some amazing looks far better then anything I can probably do.

For those of you who have tried this palette, or perhaps are not a fan of eyeshadow but do love your highlight I would highly suggest the Soph X Highlighter palette. Whilst I do not own it as I do not enjoy wearing highlighter I have swatched it. The colours are so pretty, the glow is beautiful and also for €10 you get a lot of product, precisely 8 large highlighter pans.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page